How did I get here?

by Transpharmers

Hello all!!!

Welcome to our blog. Let me first introduce myself. My name is Kim, I was born in Vietnam. Our family emigrated into the US in 1993. I have lived in bitter cold Minnesota ever since. I completed my undergraduate studies at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities with a physiology degree. Initially, my career plans included medical school and becoming a pediatrician. It wasn’t until my junior year of college that my older brother (Phat) introduced me to the world of pharmacy and helped me get my first job working as a pharmacy technician at Walgreens. Since that day, I started talking to more people about career choices in pharmacy and why they had made it their passion. I began to reevaluate my potential options, and after much thought, of course I chose pharmacy 🙂 That re-examination period helped me realized that I had more interest in the treatment of diseases than in the diagnosing of them. To me, it’s a more positive way of going about my day. I would much rather tell someone that I have cured their ailment than discovered a new life threatening disease growing in them. Every day since the start of pharmacy school, I find my interest in pharmacy continually growing!! There are so many opportunities out there, I cannot wait to learn about all of them and eventually find one that is best suited for me. I just know it’s out there somewhere 🙂 and I’m going for it.

Leave a Reply

